Crazyflie Bolt, one of the motor outputs is not working.

Post here to get support
Post Reply
relame
Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:34 pm

Crazyflie Bolt, one of the motor outputs is not working.

Post by relame »

I just bought a brand new Crazyflie bolt and after flying a new set up for the first time, one of the outputs is not supplying proper signals to the ESC. Specifically the M1 motor outputs from the bolt have no voltage differential between outputs.

The hardware I am using is as follows:

35A 2-5S Brushless ESC https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B077Z ... UTF8&psc=1
A bit of overkill but should still work

4000KV Brushless Motor https://www.getfpv.com/emax-rs1306b-v2- ... or-cw.html
Max current draw at about 15 A

The Matek PDB https://www.amazon.com/FPVDrone-Matek-P ... 8604&psc=1

A 3 cell, 75C Lipo https://www.getfpv.com/tattu-850mah-14- ... P-EALw_wcB

and of course the Crazyflie bolt

At the moment, I am testing the setup using cfclient and everything seems nominal except one of the motors stopped spinning after a single flight. I replaced the ESC and motor to no prevail. Not until taking everything apart and tesing the crazyflie bolt leads with a multimeter did i realize that the crazyflie bolt was not supplying any signal to the motor.

How could this happen? why did the bolt stop working properly? The power to the bolt is being regulated by the 12 volt BEC on the PDB. Given the setup, I don't see how I could have fried the board in any way. Please let me know what may be causing the M1 output to no be supplying proper signal.
relame
Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:34 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt, one of the motor outputs is not working.

Post by relame »

I also only connected the signal wires and ground wires from the bolt to the ESC. The ESC is also connected to the PDB with power and ground connections.
tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 2123
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Crazyflie Bolt, one of the motor outputs is not working.

Post by tobias »

Could the signal have been shorted to the 12V? There is a 100ohm resistor to protect the output from shorting but for how long is hard to say. I did try and short it to 12.4V for a couple off seconds with no damage, but it was pulling ~50mA and I'm not sure how long it would last. Is the resistor still there and well soldered?
Bolt-m1-100ohm-resistor.png
relame
Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:34 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt, one of the motor outputs is not working.

Post by relame »

I am not sure how the signal would have been shorted to the 12V? Yes the resistor is still there and well soldered. From the picture, it is hard to tell which resistor you circled but the two outer slots of the area you circled have resistors while the middle slot does not.
tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 2123
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Crazyflie Bolt, one of the motor outputs is not working.

Post by tobias »

The connector contains VBAT - SIGNAL - GND so the signal can be accidentally shorted to either of these. Shorting to GND shouldn't be any problem but shorting to VBAT could be destructive.

I think the GPIO is broke on the STM32F405. Please send us an email to support(at)bitcraze.io and we will help you out.
Post Reply