OptiTrack and Crazyflie Python no ROS

Discussions related to positioning systems where the position is calculated outside the Crazyflie and sent to the device using radio, including MoCap systems
scott
Beginner

OptiTrack and Crazyflie Python no ROS

Post by scott »

Hi all,

I'm a student and I've been tasked with integrating OptiTrack and Crazyflie 2.1 quadcopters for future classes, pretty much entirely using Python. We have Motive and the NatNet SDK set up to receive the position (xyz) and the quaternion (qx, qy, qz, qw). A special python script takes these values and transmits them via UDP to a specific ip address, where a client python file unpacks the data via socket and places it into a queue:

Code: Select all

def optitrack(queue: Queue, run_process: Value):
    logging.info('Beginning socket listener')
    with socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_DGRAM) as s:
        s.bind(('0.0.0.0', int(CLIENT_PORT)))
        logging.info(f'Starting socket listener')
        while run_process.value == 1:
            data = s.recvfrom(1024)[0]
            if not data:
                logging.info(f'No data received')
                break
            else:
                [a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, i, j, k, l] = struct.unpack('ffffffffffff', data)
                x = -a
                y = c
                z = b
                qx = d
                qy = e
                qz = f
                qw = g
                roll = -h
                yaw = i
                pitch = -j
                bodyID = k
                framecount = l
                print(f'x = {x}, y = {y}, z = {z} \n qx = {qx}, qy = {qy}, qz = {qz}, qw = {qw} \n roll = {roll}, yaw = {yaw}, pitch = {pitch} \n bodyID = {bodyID}, framecount = {framecount}')
                if queue.empty():
                    queue.put((x, y, z, qx, qy, qz, qw))