[SOLVED] Flashing custom bitstream

Topics related to the Lighthouse positioning system, configuration and use
marvin
Beginner

[SOLVED] Flashing custom bitstream

Post by marvin »

Hi,

currently I'm struggling to flash the ICE40 of the Lighthouse system with a custom bitstream. First tried to to use the

Code: Select all

<paht-to-lighthouse-bootloader>/scripts/uart_bootloader.py /dev/ttyUSB0 lighthouse.bin
command. Is my assumption correct that the

/dev/ttyUSB0
shall be the Crazyradio PA dongle? But since this device doesn't show up in /dev/ (but the cf-client can connect to crazyflie), I tried it using the cf-client and a zip file with my bitstream. However after the programing, booting the FPGA fails with the message from https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-f ... sher.c#L68.
I'm fairly new to this topic so maybe I'm also missing out on something trivial here.
Last edited by marvin on Thu Feb 10, 2022 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kristoffer
Bitcraze

Re: Flashing custom bitstream

Post by kristoffer »

Hi!

No that is unfortunately not the case, the documentation was written a long time ago and it is maybe a bit confusing.
This is slightly outside my knowledge, but I think that the uart_bootloader.py script only can be used if the lighthouse deck is connected with an FTDI cable.

There might be an easier way, but you can always flash it from the python client using a zip file.
1. Start from an existing release file, download from https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-release/releases
2. Unpack the zip
3. Replace the lighthouse.bin with your fpga bin
4. Modify the manifest.json file and remove everything in the "files" section, except the lighthouse. I'm unsure if you have to modify the version, maybe
5. Pack to a zip again. Make sure it has the same structure as the original zip, error information is very limited when using the file.
6. Open the client and connect the Crazyflie with the lighthouse deck