lighthouse signal is unstable

Topics related to the Lighthouse positioning system, configuration and use
yuwen
Beginner

lighthouse signal is unstable

Post by yuwen »

Hi,

I am new to crazyflie. I use two lighthouse V2 base stations for positioning and try to use LH to autonomy fly. After setup all equipment, I use LH tab in cfclient to estimate the geometry and see if the position is reasonable. When the crazyflie is near to the origin point, the position is correct. But when I move it a little far, the position starts to drift quickly and the receive indicator turns red(I think means the crazyflie can't receive the signal from the base station).

The range for the stable signal is only 2.5m*2.5m and 1.7m in height, but I expect the range should be much larger(about 4.5m*4.5m and 3.5m in height). I set two base stations in 3.5m height and place them in diagonal with a distance of 4m. I have tried changing the tilt angle of the base station, horizontal, 45 degrees, face down, but doesn't get better.

Is the range the limit of LH? or any adjustment in hardware, software or environment can make it better?
kristoffer
Bitcraze

Re: lighthouse signal is unstable

Post by kristoffer »

The maximum range of a V2 base station is around 5-6 meters, but the actual space where the position can be tracked also depends on the geometrical setup of the system. The light sweeps from the base stations are detected by the four sensors on the top of the lighthouse deck and if the angle to a base station is too shallow it will not be detected, for instance if flying close to the same height as the base station you will probably not get any data. The same will happen when flying way from a base station or when turning and the CF is tilted away. You can use the client to see which base station that is received and figure out how your geometry works out.
Note; If you are using the standard set up, reception of one base station should be enough to fly.