What is the best approach to control CrazyFlies in a Vicon or Optitrack environment.

Discussions related to positioning systems where the position is calculated outside the Crazyflie and sent to the device using radio, including MoCap systems
Ahmad
Beginner

What is the best approach to control CrazyFlies in a Vicon or Optitrack environment.

Post by Ahmad »

Hello everyone,

I am a graduate student, and I am currently running experiments for networked control on CrazyFlie quadcopters. I have seen many comments online and on the forum about controlling multiple CrazyFlie. However, as new tools and software versions update by Bitcraze and third parties were coming out over the years, I am getting confuses about which tools I should use. So far, I successfully ran an experiment in an Optitrack motion capture environment. I read Optitrack data using the Python NaTNetClient and then I send send_setpoint(roll, pitch, yaw, thrust) to the Crazyflie. However, I faced challenges with extending this to multiple quadcopters, and my Python code is a bit slow; I sped up the code using Numba.

My goal is to build a reliable CrazyFlie testbed to run networked control experiments in a Vicon or Optitrack motion capture environment. I have three radios and ten CrazyFlies. I need some help, as I got stuck, and I do not want to reinvent the wheel.

Below are my questionsl:

1) What is the best way to control multiple CrazyFlie?
a) is it via the Bitcraze Python library, i.e., individually controlling, Crazyflie() objects or using Swarm() object.
b) is it via the Crazyswarm? I see two github repos. What is the difference between them?
https://github.com/USC-ACTLab/crazyswarm
https://github.com/whoenig/crazyflie_ros?

2) Crazyflie specific questions
a) how many Crazyflies can I control with a single radio? I read somewhere it is 3-4 and how come Crazyswarm could control 15? is it simply that Crazyswarm has a better radio driver?