Flowdeck with LPS? - Need help with position readings

All discussions related to the Loco Positioning system
Post Reply
h4_n0j
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 1:08 am

Flowdeck with LPS? - Need help with position readings

Post by h4_n0j » Thu Jul 26, 2018 1:27 am

Hello all,


I'm working on a research project utilizing the Crazyflie 2.0 quadcopter, Flowdeck, and Loco Positioning System (6 Nodes).
I need help with the LPS readings of (x, y, z) position.

I'm currently flying autonomous missions in which the quad takes off, flies a 1 meter x 1 meter square, and lands where it started.
This is achieved through the use of a Python script, and Flowdeck (for ensured stability).
I also used the LPS to try to measure absolute position data.
Linux is the OS used to execute the flight scripts and quad-computer communication.

I've been trying to obtain accurate position readings utilizing a Python script similar to the one called "AutonomousSequence" (found on my Crazyflie Python library).
I ran my missions, obtained position data via Python shell, and imported the raw data to MATLAB to generate 2D and 3D plots.

All my plots show the central (x,y) coordinates being (1,0). I do not understand why.

Is it because the LPS does NOT actually use absolute positioning? I thought LPS does use absolute positioning.
Or is there anything wrong with my LPS calibration, position set, or defective hardware?

willv
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:28 pm

Re: Flowdeck with LPS? - Need help with position readings

Post by willv » Thu Jul 26, 2018 7:58 pm

I'm trying to fly a similar pattern and have a few questions on your set up: are you using the system with the flow deck on the bottom and the LPS tag on the top? and how stable was your flight with this combination?

h4_n0j
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 1:08 am

Re: Flowdeck with LPS? - Need help with position readings

Post by h4_n0j » Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:58 pm

I realized I didn't use the Loco Deck when I originally posted this question. I just performed another flight test with both the Flow and Loco decks (Flow on bottom, Loco on top). The flights were extremely stable regardless if the Loco decks were used or not.

Post Reply