[SOLVED] Is channel2 available on LPS node?

Discussions about technology in general
Post Reply
t.yoneda
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 3:03 am

[SOLVED] Is channel2 available on LPS node?

Post by t.yoneda »

this page says dwSetChannel(dwm, CHANNEL_2), does it mean that UWB channel 2 is available in the LPS node?
If so, is the bandwidth of channel2 3774 ~ 4243.2 MHz?
kristoffer
Bitcraze
Posts: 629
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Is channel2 available on LPS node?

Post by kristoffer »

The nodes use the Decawave DWM1000 modules (https://www.decawave.com/product/dwm1000-module/) the best source for this type of information is their data sheets.
t.yoneda
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 3:03 am

Re: Is channel2 available on LPS node?

Post by t.yoneda »

Thanks kristoffer.

First, I would like to use the DWM1000 node legally in Japan.
I have read the DWM1000 datasheet and it says ch2, 5 are available but, no bandwidth values were not written. In Japan, ch2 (3774 ~ 4243.2 MHz) is allowed by law among them.
So, I would like to know if the bandwidth of ch2 of DWM1000 is actually 3774 ~ 4243.2 MHz, if bitcraze has ever been to measure it.

Frequency Assignment Plan | Japan Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications
Table of Frequencies for UWB radio systems | Japan Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications
kristoffer
Bitcraze
Posts: 629
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Is channel2 available on LPS node?

Post by kristoffer »

We have not done any measurements, but I think (hope) you can find what you are looking for in the documentation.
The DWM1000 module is a small PCB with the DW1000 chip + antenna, so you should look for specs of the DW1000 (it is not obvious, sorry!)

Try this one:
https://www.decawave.com/wp-content/upl ... asheet.pdf
t.yoneda
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 3:03 am

[SOLVED] Re: Is channel2 available on LPS node?

Post by t.yoneda »

I found the supported bandwidth for channel 2 on page 18 :D
Thank you for taking your time.
Post Reply