Run examples

Discussions about the AI-deck
BadWoman
Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2021 8:12 pm

Re: Run examples

Post by BadWoman »

tongchen@DESKTOP-AD34CRG:~$ lsusb
tongchen@DESKTOP-AD34CRG:~$

So basically when I do 'lsusb', it will process with no error info or anything in return. It just goes down to the next line which is not expected if it does not provide usb access... I am quite confused with the situation.
kimberly
Bitcraze
Posts: 749
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Run examples

Post by kimberly »

So on a virtualbox with linux (hosted on a windows 10) and with the olimex programmer selected as usb input, you are supposed to see this:

Code: Select all

bitcraze@ubuntu:~$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 15ba:002a Olimex Ltd. ARM-USB-TINY-H JTAG interface
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 80ee:0021 VirtualBox USB Tablet
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
if I use the ubuntu WSL, I get this because there is no USB support:

Code: Select all

kimberly@DESKTOP-UIF3NAP:~$ lsusb                                                                                       
kimberly@DESKTOP-UIF3NAP:~$                   
So there are only two ways to connect to the olimex programmer for programming the AIdeck: (1) a virtual machine program like virtualbox running ubuntu or (2) a native install of linux on a different computer or dual boot
BadWoman
Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2021 8:12 pm

Re: Run examples

Post by BadWoman »

Oh I see. I just hopped back on my VM oracle virtual machine and lsusb returned what you gave me in the picture. I will run the export code to see if it lets me to run the example code on the deck.
BadWoman
Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2021 8:12 pm

Re: Run examples

Post by BadWoman »

Ok it works! Just another question, how can I copy and paste in virtualbox? This is bugging me for a long time ever since I started to program on it.
kristoffer
Bitcraze
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Run examples

Post by kristoffer »

To copy/paste between the VM and your host you need the Guest Additions. You can find more information on how to set it up here https://www.techrepublic.com/article/ho ... irtualbox/
Post Reply