Suggestions for documentation - please comment

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
bot-motion
Beginner

Suggestions for documentation - please comment

Post by bot-motion »

I have two questions w/ regard to documentation:

* I started drawing graphs of how the program flow works in the firmware. It helps me think about how to implement my own project(s). I'm a noob in embedded programming and only a hobbyist - so I can't guarantee those drawings would be useful for anyone even if improved. Example is attached. Would this be useful/could this be integrated into documentation somewhere? Any hints what I should do to make it more useful?

[I made other sketches e.g. tracing the way of information for the multiranger deck from the sensor to the log/the cflib. I'm compiling a list of all the tasks ususally created, and how the system initializes]

* Is it still of interest to have a doxygen documentation? I saw that some comments are still such that it's possible to generate something, but there's no config file for doxy.
Attachments
firmware_overview.png
bot-motion
Beginner

Re: Suggestions for documentation - please comment

Post by bot-motion »

I started playing with doxygen to figure out how it might generate sth that helps a beginner understand structure rather than detail.

The trick could be to describe

* what you can do
* how information flows

See the attached screenshot for a more concrete example: say, I want to understand how to use sensor readings in my on app()-layer. I start looking, and lo-and-behold there is multiranger.c. But wait, that is what my deck is called, but that's not where the data is (for my consuming app). But I find a hint that I should use range.c.

Does that make sense?
Attachments
why-doxy.PNG
kristoffer
Bitcraze

Post by kristoffer »

Hi!