Trajectory upload limitation

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
Post Reply
alienado
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 1:00 am

Trajectory upload limitation

Post by alienado »

Hi guys,
I'm doing some tests with autonomous_sequence_high_level.py and I have an issue I would like your help.
I made tests with 20 point routes for the trajectory and the flight was ok. When I tried with 40 or more, the script process freezes on "upload data" and it seems never end.

I would like your help in understanding what are the limitations regarding the data upload throught dongle and if the solution is to upload it throught the firmware?
Thank you.
kristoffer
Bitcraze
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Trajectory upload limitation

Post by kristoffer »

Hi!

You hit this bug https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-l ... issues/175 that was fixed 4 days ago. There is now an error callback that will tell you that the upload failed
alienado
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 1:00 am

Re: Trajectory upload limitation

Post by alienado »

Hey @kristoffer, thanks for your reply.

Do I need to upload new firmware to the CF?

Also, there's any limitation about the amount of trajectories trough the dongle?

Thanks.
kristoffer
Bitcraze
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Trajectory upload limitation

Post by kristoffer »

The firmware should be good so you don't have to re-flash if you are on an lateish version. The firmware reports an error back when the lib tries to write outside the trajectory memory area, the problem was that the python lib interpreted the reported error as a temporary problem and tried to re-write the same block again (which of course failed again and so on).

I added the callback in this example https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-l ... py#L86-L89

The size limit for a trajectory is due to the amount of memory allocated in the Crazyflie for trajectrories (see https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-f ... .c#L82-L83).
If you need longer trajectories you can increase the size of the memory or you can use the compressed format https://www.bitcraze.io/documentation/r ... y_formats/
Post Reply