Obstacle Course

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
Post Reply
ben.young
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:28 pm

Obstacle Course

Post by ben.young » Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:12 pm

Is there any way the Crazyflie can be programmed to navigate a predefined obstacle course autonomously? For example, maybe it would fly and land on a certain location, and then it would proceed to go through a short tunnel, and so on.

If so what steps would be required to make it work?
What files would need to be modified?

New developer here. Please be descriptive with your answers, thank you!



SuperRoach
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Obstacle Course

Post by SuperRoach » Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:39 pm

Most importantly it would need to be aware of its current position to compensate for wind etc... which means a gps. It doesn't have one of those which makes automatic flight beyong using say the magnetometer to emulate hover very tricky.

ben.young
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:28 pm

Re: Obstacle Course

Post by ben.young » Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:01 pm

We're planning to have the obstacle course indoors, and also we're trying to avoid using GPS. Is there anyway we can do it without the use of GPS.
Thanks for responding,
Ben

gmoshe27
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 2:36 am

Re: Obstacle Course

Post by gmoshe27 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:17 pm

Ben, most of the indoor tracking that I've seen for quadcopters have been in the way of computer vision, with a bunch of cameras mounted around a room. It's complex to setup, especially for one person. You'd have to give the cameras and a central computer a way of identifying the copter, either by markers on the copter or some other scheme. It's not trivial, but definitely doable, and I bet you might find a college that's done it with their source code openly available.

Post Reply