Proximity Sensor

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
cfusting
Beginner

Proximity Sensor

Post by cfusting »

Hi everyone,

Recently I have been playing with the Maxbotix LV-EZ0 (http://maxbotix.com/documents/MB1000_Datasheet.pdf) proximity sensor with the hope of giving the crazflie the ability to detect objects. I'm new to mcu programming but have a pretty good understanding of how the ADC and its dependent components work at this point. Rather than try and fit my additional sensor into the current ADC1 and 2 implementation I've just mapped a GPIO pin from the expansion header to AIN and replaced the battery input channel to get some initial sensor readings.

I've been able to send readings (that appear to be sensing proximity :) ) to the client via consolePrintf but after 3 seconds or so the crazyflie shuts off without giving me any additional information. I've added some logging points throughout the code (in adcDecimate and pmBatteryUpdate for example) but have not found anything abnormal. Sensor readings come back up until shutdown. If I start the crazyflie without the proximity sensor analog output connected to the expansion header it gives me what I believe to be some other voltage readings (due to the open pin?) and will function properly. Its not until I connect the proximity sensor's analog output to the crazyflie that it takes readings for 3 seconds and then shuts down. It leads me to believe that the type of data being read by the crazyflie is causing a memory problem or an illegal math operation but I can't see why?

So I have a few questions:

1. Any ideas why the crazyflie might be shutting off?
2. Suggestions on integrating an additional analog input into the current ADC code?
3. Is it possible to get any additional debugging information without a JTAG dongle?

I'm going to find and buy a suitable JTAG dongle as I don't think programming without a debugger will work in the long term, but I thought I would see if anyone had a thought meanwhile.