Firmware crashes induced by Logging / Loco Deck (Computational overloads?)

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
keffi
Beginner

Firmware crashes induced by Logging / Loco Deck (Computational overloads?)

Post by keffi »

Hello,

I am relatively new to the crazyflie 2.0 quadcopter developement.

Currently I am trying to implement own algorithms for navigation and control. The plan is to use the crazyflie in the flight control courses as hardware plattform for the students and also to do some research on cooperative estimation and control in the foreseeable future.

Nevertheless, I replaced the estimator_kalman by a slightly different navigational algrotihm (error based kalman fitler combined with a strapdown navigational algorithm) and I am facing strange behaviours: A "small" filter containing a 9 dimensional state vector is already working fusing data from the flow deck 2 and the IMU. Now, I am facing some phenomena and I would be very grateful for any advices helping me to overcome these issues.

1) "Small" 9 State Filter with locodeck
I attached the locodeck and when starting the crazyflie the firmware (with the 9 state filter) crashes just after startup. This effect is directly linked to the incorporation of the loco deck, if it is detached, the behavior is normal again. I was able to solve this lowering the priority of the uwb task from 5 to 3. This seems to work again (I have to try it in the lab next week with the LPS installed) but I am not sure whether this solution might cause problems elsewhere. Its kind of annoying since the 9 state estimator already existing in the firmware seems not to have this problem. Nevertheless, I have to mention, my algorithm is currently running at an 1 ms interval and not the 10 ms of the existing implementation, so it might have more computational load. Are such issues the reason for running the firmware kalman filter at the 100 Hz rate?