measure unit for detax and deltay obtained by flow deck

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
anaimp
Beginner

measure unit for detax and deltay obtained by flow deck

Post by anaimp »

Hi everybody,

I'm a student from university of L'Aquila and I'm using the crazyflie 2.0 with the flow deck for a project.
I'm trying to get data about deltax and deltay using the flow deck with the LogConfig. I obtain my data (stateEstimate.x, stateEstimate.y, stateEstimate.z), but I have a problem. When I see stateEstimate.x, it is equal to 0.5 even if the crazyflie moves only on z axis. For this reason, I am not sure about measure unit of deltax and deltay obtained from the flowdeck. Is it possible that deltax obtained by flow deck is equal to 0.5 meters when the crazyflie doesn't move on x axis?

Could someone help me?
Thanks,
Anastasia
arnaud
Bitcraze

Re: measure unit for detax and deltay obtained by flow deck

Post by arnaud »

Hi and welcome.

What you are measuring is the Crazyflie absolute X position. In the case of the flow deck this is an integration of the Crazyflie velocity calculated from the delta_x/delta_y data from the flow sensor. So what you are observing makes sense. If you where looking at the deltas you should get something around 0.

You can get the deltas directly from the flow sensor in the variables motion.delta_x, motion.delta_y:
flow_delta_xy.png
(I am moving the Crazyflie in a circle motion above my keyboard in this example).

More generally, I would advice to look at the log variable available and display them in the client first (like I did there), this allows to quickly check what the data looks like.
anaimp
Beginner

Post by anaimp »

Thanks arnaud for your reply,
ok I've tried to read deltax and deltay from the client and all it works. But I'd like to know where the integration used to obtain x absolute position is calculated in the c code .