High frequency streaming

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
david
Beginner

High frequency streaming

Post by david »

Hi everyone,

I'm a student and I just begun a project in my university where we are trying to stream audio from a microphone which would be added to the Crazyflie 2.0 using the Crazyradio to stream the sound.

For now my top priority is to understand how to achieve the highest possible transmission rate.

I have gone through all the documentation I found, search the forum topics and read the Camera Addon master thesis which has a lot of information on the Crazyflie/Crazyradio communications.

Until now I have been exploring the possibilities of logging but, to my understanding, logging is limited to 100 Hz and even by removing the multiplication by 10 mentioned here it only gets to 1000 Hz. Due to this I'm now moving away from logging and focusing on understanding how to use the communication protocol at a lower level so I can better control the transmission rate.

From the Camera Addon master thesis I know I can expect an effective throughput from the Crazyflie to the computer of about 200 Kbps.

My questions are:
  1. is anyone working on high frequency streaming from the Crazyflie?
  • is there any project that I can look into that might help?
  • is any of the code used in the Camera Addon master thesis available?
  • is there a better way to understand how to use the protocol other than going though the crtp.c/log.c code and the explanation of the CRTP found here?
Please feel free to comment on any thing regarding the project.

Thank you,
David
tobias
Bitcraze

Re: High frequency streaming

Post by tobias »

Hi David and welcome to the forum!

Interesting project you are looking into. Something we have been wanting to do for a long time as well, just no time to do it.