Stabilise altitude using z axis accelerometer

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
*matt*
Beginner

Stabilise altitude using z axis accelerometer

Post by *matt* »

I was wondering if anyone has tried using the z axis of the MPU-6050 accelerometer to help maintain altitude. I know it will only help with sudden changes in altitude, but combined with the MS5611 pressure sensor it may work better.

I will try to implement something myself although I’m not an experienced programmer.

Matt
tobias
Bitcraze

Re: Stabilise altitude using z axis accelerometer

Post by tobias »

It might work but our experience is that the accelerometer readings are very noisy from the vibrations which might make it difficult. Filtering the values might be a solution. Looking forward to your results!
TheFrog4u
Expert

Post by TheFrog4u »

hmm interesting.. one idea would be to replace thrust ctrl with z-axis acceleration ctrl.
mjc506
Beginner

Post by mjc506 »

dawwwww thanks! You've just given me the prod I needed to get my hover mode working completely!

(I have it working fairly nicely just using the barometer, but was looking for a decent derivative term - I'll now use an integrated reading from the accelerometer (to get velocity)
Fucitol
Beginner

Post by Fucitol »

That sounds very good! Please keep us updated on how you are doing, many people are interested in an altitude hold function.
mjc506
Beginner

Post by mjc506 »

sure, code is here: https://bitbucket.org/mjc506/crazyflie-firmware and it compiles and runs fine. You will also need a patched cf-client - I used Phiamo's code: https://bitbucket.org/phiamo/crazyflie-pc-client (but couldn't get his firmware working for me)