Bricked flie .. howto recovert

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
phiamo

Bricked flie .. howto recovert

Post by phiamo »

I was a bit enthusiastic and added some code to the crazyflie firmware and flashed it ... now its a brick ;)

Only the blue LED is goin on red/green flash for a milisec afterpoweron but nothing else...

Now i am wondering on howto recover from here, i assume i need a jtag adtapter board to connect my flie via usb and then i should be abled to recover it right?

Atm i dont have any jtag boards here, but some arduinos and so i will now try turning the arduino into a jtag cable ... e.g. http://hsb.wikidot.com/arduino-jtag-finder-workshop

But since i have no experience with jtag etc it would be nice if someone could describe how the jtag recovery would normally work with commercial adaptor.

any help would be appreciated ...
marcus
Bitcraze

Re: Bricked flie .. howto recovert

Post by marcus »

Hi phiamo,

It's ok, you can still use the bootloader to flash firmware. The quick flashing of the green/red LED you see is the bootloader running. Just do a normal cold-boot like described here and it should come alive again. Try the stock firmware found here.

When the Crazyflie is powered on the first thing executed is the bootloader. At this point the client can connect and stop the boot sequence to upload/flash new firmware. If the bootloader is not stopped within 500ms (I think) the boot sequence continues and the "normal" firmware is started. When updating the firmware using the bootloader you are safe since the bootloader cannot overwrite itself. The only way to brick it is to flash firmware that will erase the first pages of the flash where the bootloader resides.

/Marcus
phiamo

Post by phiamo »

Oh wow, didnt try it, just closed the win after nothing happened ;)
back on ;) but since i would really love to see what i did wrong, i think i wont come around a jtag interface for debugging?