CF2.0 Led ring expansion: how to program?

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
eric_castro
Beginner

CF2.0 Led ring expansion: how to program?

Post by eric_castro »

I just received some spare parts and the neopixel led ring for my CF 2.0

It turns on fine, it works, but with latest firmware it is plain white light without any effect.

I tried using the client for OSX, but it only works with the Crazyradio (which should be arriving soon, too). It doesn't support BLE yet.

However, I didn't see any neopixel settings. No neopixel settings in the iPhone app either.

The only thing I saw is a branch on github named "neopixe_dev", I'm a dev myself and everything but I'm not exactly sure where to start just to test some light effects, that I can later program with my own code, etc

Any wiki/tutorial out there?

Thanks
chad
Expert

Re: CF2.0 Led ring expansion: how to program?

Post by chad »

eric_castro wrote:but with latest firmware it is plain white light without any effect.
That's the default effect.
eric_castro wrote:I tried using the client for OSX, but it only works with the Crazyradio (which should be arriving soon, too). It doesn't support BLE yet. However, I didn't see any neopixel settings.
You can only change the current LED ring effect by changing the parameter for "ring.effect" in the firmware (either at run time or by setting the default value at compile time). At run time, this parameter is only accessible through cfclient's "Parameters" tab. You can change it from your controller if you use a branch of the cfclient. Read this thread entry to find out more. If you change the default in the firmware you'll need to re-flash the CF of course. Without the Crazyradio you can do this over USB with DFU.

AFAIK, Mac and PCs don't support BLE communication with the Crazyflie (you need the Crazyradio).
eric_castro wrote:No neopixel settings in the iPhone app either.