[SOLVED] Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post here to get support
Post Reply
mendesk
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:26 pm

[SOLVED] Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by mendesk »

Hi,

While testing different channels using the python client I got stuck when I tried channel 127 (the maximum). It seems it was written to the crazyflie but a scan doesn't show up anything anymore. Leds of crazyflie and crazyradio look normal. Connecting using the smartphone app works.

Things I've tried:
  • resetting crazyradio firmware to cradio-pa-0.53.bin
  • resetting crazyflie firmware to firmware-cf2-2020.06.zip
  • working with the latest version of the python client
  • removing ~/.config/cfclient and restarting python client
None of this helped however. Does someone have more suggestions or experienced something similar?
Last edited by mendesk on Mon Aug 03, 2020 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kimberly
Bitcraze
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by kimberly »

Hi,

The maximum is 125, not 127 (see here). I just tried it myself and 125 does seem to work on our end.

Could you let us know where you saw the 127 as maximum? Maybe the documentation has a typo somewhere, so we will need to correct that.
mendesk
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:26 pm

Re: Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by mendesk »

Hi Kimberly,

Clicking the "up" arrow in the python client, that reaches 127.


Ken
kimberly
Bitcraze
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by kimberly »

Ah good to know! That can indeed confuse people. It is not supposed to go there.

We will make sure that this is not possible in the next release of the cfclient. Thanks!
kimberly
Bitcraze
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by kimberly »

I've made an issue here: https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-c ... issues/422 so other people will know of this as well.
mendesk
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:26 pm

Re: Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by mendesk »

Do you know of a way to recover from this situation? I've tried to reset everything I know of but can't detect the crazyflie anymore. I'm not sure what to try next or where to start looking.
mendesk
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:26 pm

Re: Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by mendesk »

I was able to connect again over the radio by resetting the crazyflie's EEPROM as documented here.

Thank you!


Ken
kimberly
Bitcraze
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:13 am

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by kimberly »

It is also possible to connect the crazyflie to the cfclient with USB as well. Then you can change the configuration too. But resetting the eeprom is also a good method :)
mendesk
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:26 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to connect to crazyflie after setting channel to 127

Post by mendesk »

Ah yes, I did it the hard way ;)
Post Reply