Need Help With Image Processing

Discussions about quadcopters/multi-rotors
micakce
Beginner

Need Help With Image Processing

Post by micakce »

Hi! A group of my university adopted this proyect and I just joined them. I'm going to work in the part related to image processing and I would like some advice or guidance with respect of what tools should I use, I am kind of new to all this stuff so Im trying to catch up as fast as I can. I am supossed to work with the Kinect and I intend to control it throug this mean, so the quadcopter can know where it is and where to go (human controlled), avoid crashing with obstacles (self controlled) and these sort of things. So the real questions are:

1.- What tools do yo recomend? I've reading about OpenCV and Visual Studio, what about using it with matlab?

2.- What else could I try to develop besides just controlling it indoor and crash avoidance.

Would appreciate a lot your help, thanks!
Last edited by micakce on Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
whoenig
Expert

Re: Need Help With Image Proccesing

Post by whoenig »

1. OpenCV + OpenNI are good choices. If you don't like C++, you can use python bindings instead. I would not recommend using Matlab for that - that is just not a domain where Matlab is great at (would be mainly control flow). If you want to get fancy you can use Linux + Robot Operating System (ROS).
2. This is hard enough... I don't think you will need more tasks for a while!
micakce
Beginner

Re: Need Help With Image Proccesing

Post by micakce »

Oh thanks, I think I'll try OpenCV + OpenNI, they seem to be just right for the task... And that about using python binding sounds good too. Well, it looks like I got a lot of work to do, thanks a lot! Until later.
micakce
Beginner

Re: Need Help With Image Processing

Post by micakce »