About New Step-by-Step Guides

Discussions about all things Bitcraze
christi
Beginner

About New Step-by-Step Guides

Post by christi »

Hello,

In response to your recent blog posts on creating new step-by-step user guides, I would like to add some suggestions. The new user guides have been very helpful, and I look forward to seeing them expand, but it would be great to have a page with a general overview of everything.

For some background, I am studying mechanical engineering in college and before starting a project using the Crazyflie 2.1 did not have much prior knowledge in robotics, aerospace, electronics or programming. It has taken me many hours to understand what the role of each software/program is and how they connect with each other by reading the Bitcraze guides, github, forums, and the blog. Specifically, I was trying to understand what the cflib and client are, what capabilities the virtual machine provides, and where different tasks should be accomplished, such as programming the drone versus developing software and firmware. I am still trying to figure out what capabilities ROS and ZMQ have and whether I can use it for the project.

The problem is, there is a lot of information out there, but it is scattered all over the place, or even in the case of Bitcraze guides, I do not know that the information is there until I search for it (specifically in the case with autonomous flight, ROS, and ZMQ). Some more specific examples: Some information included in updates about new releases in blog posts should be included in the general information for that software. On Github, it is confusing whether the instructions are for developing the software or for simply using the software. Information and products required for autonomous flights are not directly found.