Bypassing start up procedure on Crazyflie 2.0

Discussions about all things Bitcraze
Post Reply
djc3xy
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:18 pm

Bypassing start up procedure on Crazyflie 2.0

Post by djc3xy »

When using the crazyflie if I start the system suspended by a wire the crazyflie wont connect to the code a wrote but when I allow the crazyflie to boot up on a flat surface this is fixed. Is there a way to bypass this start up cycle in the firmware.
arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2538
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Bypassing start up procedure on Crazyflie 2.0

Post by arnaud »

The part of startup that is blocked is most likely the gyro bias estimation, it requires the quad to be very still.

You can bypass it by setting gyroBiasFound to "true" instead of these lines: https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-f ... #L283-L286

This will set the bias to 0 and will allow the quad to continue booting.
djc3xy
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: Bypassing start up procedure on Crazyflie 2.0

Post by djc3xy »

How do I change and implement this code? (Step by Step please I am not good at the programming) Using a Linux computer with Python installed.
arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2538
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Bypassing start up procedure on Crazyflie 2.0

Post by arnaud »

There is a getting started guide for crazyflie development: https://www.bitcraze.io/getting-started ... velopment/. If you go through it you will have everything setup to make and flash your own firmwares.

Then, just replace the group of line I linked by

Code: Select all

gyroBiasFound = true;
Post Reply