lighthouse system -- buyers guide

Discussions related to positioning systems where the position is calculated outside the Crazyflie and sent to the device using radio, including MoCap systems
tvlqr
Beginner

lighthouse system -- buyers guide

Post by tvlqr »

Hi,

I am a PhD student working on a research project about a palm-sized quadrotor flying in indoor environments with high-precision external position systems. I came across your product line and it looks like this is the perfect hardware platform for me. So I would like to learn a bit more before placing an order. Basically, I have the following system requirements in mind:

- I need a palm-sized quadrotor that allows me to implement my own attitude and altitude control algorithms in C++ or python. Specifically, this means I can fetch IMU sensor data, implement my own algorithm to compute PWM signals, and send these signals to rotors. It would be better if I can implement it on a remote computer and communicate with the quadrotor via telemetry but onboard control is ok too.

- I need an external position system that can give me high-precision pose information (x, y, z, roll, pitch, yaw) at a high frequency. Something like Vicon or OptiTrack would be ideal but they are very expensive. Moreover, I need to set up the system in an apartment so space is a bit constrained.

I skimmed over your products and it looks like your crazyflies v2.1 + lighthouse position system could satisfy my needs. My questions are as follows:
- Regarding the quadrotor and accessories, which crazyflies bundle is the most suitable for me?
- Regarding the lighthouse system, I noticed an old post published in Jun 2019 mentioning a) it did not provide the angular information and b) the absolute error was constant and +/-10cm and the relative error was in millimeters at that time. Is there any update on the accuracy of your lighthouse system now?

Thank you!
kimberly
Bitcraze

Re: lighthouse system -- buyers guide

Post by kimberly »

Hi!