Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

All discussions related to the Loco Positioning system
Post Reply
sstroobants
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:13 pm

Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by sstroobants » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:11 pm

Hi there,

Every time I start the nodes, their ID has been reset to zero. When I set them to a different value with the lpstools, and then press the reset button, they have the correct ID, but when I then power them on again, they have reset it to zero. They do remember the anchor locations though...
I am not quite sure why this happens and it does not seem like this is supposed to happen since now I have to program them every time I use them.

I have used the latest firmware that was available for the build.

I am looking forward to your answer.

Kind regards,
Stein



arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2046
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by arnaud » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:20 pm

Hi,

That indeed does not sound correct, this is not something we have seen before.

- What version of the node firmware are you using?
- What operating system are you using?

If you have a serial port terminal setup, it would be useful to open the node USB serial port and to get a copy of the text displayed when you open the serial port.

sstroobants
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by sstroobants » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:34 pm

Hi Arnaud,
Thank you for the quick response.

- As far as I now the latest one available. Cloned the repo today and built it from there. Any way to see the exact version?

- I did, as you can see it is strangely resetting the ID (note that the only thing I did was taking the power of and turning it on again):

====================
SYSTEM : CPU-ID: 44002e001857344730333020
TEST : Initializing pressure sensor ... [OK]
TEST : Pressure sensor self-test ... [OK]
TEST : EEPROM self-test ... [OK]
CONFIG : EEPROM configuration read and verified
TEST : Initialize UWB ... [OK]
CONFIG : Address is 0x1
CONFIG : Mode is TWR Anchor
CONFIG : Tag mode anchor list (6): 0x01 0x02 0x03 0x04 0x05 0x06
CONFIG : Anchor position enabled: false
CONFIG : SmartPower enabled: True
CONFIG : Force TX power: False
CONFIG : Bitrate: normal
CONFIG : Preamble: normal
SYSTEM : Node started ...
SYSTEM : Press 'h' for help.
Updating address to 0x01
Device address: 0x1
EEPROM configuration changed, restart for it to take effect!
Updating address to 0x00
Device address: 0x0
EEPROM configuration changed, restart for it to take effect!
Updating address to 0x01
Device address: 0x1
EEPROM configuration changed, restart for it to take effect!
Updating address to 0x00
Device address: 0x0
EEPROM configuration changed, restart for it to take effect!
Updating address to 0x01
Device address: 0x1
EEPROM configuration changed, restart for it to take effect!
Updating address to 0x00
Device address: 0x0
EEPROM configuration changed, restart for it to take effect!

arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2046
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by arnaud » Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:02 pm

Hi,

OK, you compiled the latest master. There has been some change to the menu since the last release so you could try the release to make sure this is not a bug of the node: https://github.com/bitcraze/lps-node-firmware/releases.

More likely this is your computer sending random data to the serial port. I have seen that on Linux before (linux is trying to use the node as a modem), but it usually does not cause problems. If you configure the node and then not connect it to this computer again (ie power it with a USB battery) it should keep its ID.

What operating system are you using?

sstroobants
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by sstroobants » Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:10 am

Hi,

I forgot to mention that I am indeed on Linux (Ubuntu 18.04), sorry.

I've indeed tried to configure them using minicom (this seemed easier than the lpstools since it gives me instant feedback over the serial port) and after setting an Id manually just disconnecting and powering with a powerbank. This seems to do the trick! So I think you must be right, my pc probably sends some zeros and ones to the node which are interpreted as an Id.

Thank you for your help.

Stein

arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2046
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by arnaud » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:43 am

Glad that it worked! I also find the serial console more practical and it also gives access to more options like the TX power settings.

The problem was most likely caused by Modemmanager: its a program that tries to detect a modem on newly connected serial ports.

If you do not need to use any modem on your computer you should be able to stop and disable it from boot with:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl stop ModemManager.service
sudo systemctl disable ModemManager.service

sstroobants
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Anchor ID's resetting after power-up

Post by sstroobants » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:36 am

Just wanted to let you know that I stopped Modemmanager and now the problems have stopped (as you expected). So that was most likely the cause of the issue.
Thanks for the support!

Post Reply