Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
r0b0tn1k
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by r0b0tn1k » Sat May 02, 2020 8:44 pm

I have a bolt, connected it to a 4 in one ESC and connected the motors to the ESC.

I'm trying to test if I have the motors wired in the correct order, and when I use the CFClient to issue a propeller test, I get the following error:

Code: Select all

STAB: Ready to fly.
STAB: Acc noise floor variance X+Y:0.003686, (Z:0.002372)
STAB: Motor M1 variance X+Y:0.003287 (Z:0.001701)
STAB: Motor M2 variance X+Y:0.003989 (Z:0.002357)
STAB: Motor M3 variance X+Y:0.003518 (Z:0.002738)
STAB: Motor M4 variance X+Y:0.003716 (Z:0.002365)
Everything else during bootup seems ok:

Code: Select all

SYS: Crazyflie Bolt is up and running!
SYS: Production release 2019.09
SYS: I am 0x20373347344D500E0032003D and I have 1024KB of flash!
CFGBLK: v1, verification [OK]
DECK_CORE: 2 deck(s) found
DECK_CORE: Calling INIT on driver bcMultiranger for deck 0
DECK_CORE: Calling INIT on driver bcZRanger for deck 1
IMU: BMI088 Gyro SPI connection [OK].
IMU: BMI088 Accel SPI connection [OK]
IMU: BMP388 I2C connection [OK]
ESTIMATOR: Using Complementary (1) estimator
CONTROLLER: Using PID (1) controller
MTR-DRV: Using brushless motor driver
EEPROM: I2C connection [OK].
MR: Init front sensor [OK]
MR: Init back sensor [OK]
MR: Init up sensor [OK]
MR: Init left sensor [OK]
MR: Init right sensor [OK]
DECK_CORE: Deck 0 test [OK].
DECK_CORE: Deck 1 test [OK].
STAB: Wait for sensor calibration...
SYS: Free heap: 9624 bytes
This is the wiring:
Image

Any ideas?



tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by tobias » Mon May 04, 2020 1:26 pm

The propeller test is disabled for the brushless driver as possibly it could become dangerous. What you can do instead is to control the motors manually one by one by setting the parameters motorPowerSet.M1, M2... Set enable to 1 to enable the "override". Normally a value of 3000 is enough to get them spinning (64535 max).

r0b0tn1k
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by r0b0tn1k » Mon May 04, 2020 7:11 pm

Please excuse my ignorance, but where do I do this?
In flight control, I can set thrust manually, but nothing happens. If I click on M1, M2, M3, M4 using the sliders, nothing happens.

tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by tobias » Tue May 05, 2020 2:41 pm

It can be found in the parameter tab. Some more explanation in this post.

r0b0tn1k
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by r0b0tn1k » Thu May 07, 2020 8:24 pm

Thank you that helped... a bit.

Having more issues now.

When attempting to spin up the engines one engine responds very well (m1) while the others barely spin even at 65000.
It also varies from one bolt reset to another.
One reset the motors will move more willingly, another they just refuse. The inconsistency is... not encouraging.

Then thinking I had the engines all wired up, I put it on the floor and started the multiranger push demo.

That resulted in 2 or 3 motors spinning up, almost at full blast, having me to cancel the flight.

I really need assistance to get this off the ground. Is there specific support I can contact, perhaps via Skype? This channel has a response time of two days, so at this rate there will be a Bolt v2 by the time this takes off.

tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by tobias » Fri May 08, 2020 8:00 am

I expect communication incompatibility because you signal wiring looks good. Double check ground though. What type of ESC do you have? The default signal output is 400Hz PWM which should be commonly supported by ESCs but maybe not this one. You can try to switch to ONESHOT_125 by defining ENABLE_ONESHOT125.

Unfortunately we can not offer personal support, we don't have the resources for that but we will try to answer you quicker here at the forum.

r0b0tn1k
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by r0b0tn1k » Fri May 08, 2020 9:58 am

This is the ESC:
https://www.banggood.com/HGLRC-FD13A-13 ... rehouse=CN

I also have this one, so I could switch if needed:
https://www.banggood.com/HGLRC-FD413-VT ... rehouse=CN

I'll test out Oneshot by the end of the day.
I'll also post some photos & videos if that helps...

r0b0tn1k
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by r0b0tn1k » Sat May 09, 2020 11:26 am

A Picture says a thousand words, so including a bunch of photos:

https://imgur.com/a/y4rRZ3l

Also a video of the issue:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i4e7m3d89aw4t ... 3.MOV?dl=0

You can see Motor 2 specifically refuses to run at the same speed while M3 & M4 run great.

r0b0tn1k
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by r0b0tn1k » Sun May 10, 2020 8:14 pm

Please see if you can spot any issues from the video or photos that may be causing the take off.

tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Crazyflie Bolt issue with motors

Post by tobias » Mon May 11, 2020 9:01 am

Hmm, hard to tell but I would guess it is a connection issue to M1 and M2. Maybe the soldering is not good enough to the motor? Since M3 and M4 run as they should this is my best bet.

Post Reply