Do I need a crazyFlie if I have the bolt?

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
Post Reply
r0b0tn1k
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Do I need a crazyFlie if I have the bolt?

Post by r0b0tn1k »

I am looking at buying the bolt.
If I do get it, do I need to get the crazyFlie or is the bolt just the crazyFlie in a bigger package?

And also, if I order know, will there be any shipping delays?
arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2292
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Do I need a crazyFlie if I have the bolt?

Post by arnaud »

The bold is essentially a Crazyflie without the brushed motors and with brushless controller connector instead, so no you do not need a Crazyflie with the bolt, it is a Crazyflie.

We are shipping multiple times per week so if you order now from store.bitcraze.io your order will be shipped within a couple of day.
r0b0tn1k
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Do I need a crazyFlie if I have the bolt?

Post by r0b0tn1k »

Addon question:
I already have the big deck quad.
Why should I get the bolt? What's the advantage?
arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2292
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Do I need a crazyFlie if I have the bolt?

Post by arnaud »

The Crazyflie bolt implements brushless motor driver output independently of the expansion deck port, this means that the deck port is completly free to attach any deck while the bigquad deck uses quite a lot IO on the deck port. Bolt is also a single-board solution versus the CF2+bigquad two board stack.

But, If CF2 + bigquad deck does fullfill you needs there is no need to replace it by a CF bolt.
r0b0tn1k
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:53 pm

Re: Do I need a crazyFlie if I have the bolt?

Post by r0b0tn1k »

My crazyflie looks bulky as it is, let alone if I add the big deck quad.
I think I'll buy the bolt, but after the holidays, so it dont get stuck in the mail with everyone else's Christmas shopping! :)
Post Reply