Use PC Client for 10 Crazyflies

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
Post Reply
song
Beginner
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:24 am

Use PC Client for 10 Crazyflies

Post by song » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:20 am

Hello there,

Recently, i bought 10 crazyflie 2.0 and LPS deck.
I'm using now the most recent firmware, VM provided from Bitcraze and 1 Crazyradio dongle. The problem is that i can use PC client utility for 1 cf2, but not for cf2 more than 2EA.
The only thing that i want is to read position value(marked as pictured below) of crazyflie more than 2.
이미지 4.png
There's no need to set up to make 10 Crazyflies flying, I just wanna get position value simultaneously.

Any suggestion and recommendation would be a great help.
Thanks in advance!



arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Use PC Client for 10 Crazyflies

Post by arnaud » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:56 am

In order to get the position simultaneously of 10 Crazyflie you will need to either make your own Python script or to use another client like ROS.

Unfortunately I do not think we have ready-made example script for logging 10 Crazyflie at the same time. You should be able to assemble the multiramp example that connects multiple Crazyflies (https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-l ... ltiramp.py) with the basic log example that logs values from the Crazyflie (https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-l ... asiclog.py) to log all 10 Crazyflies at the same time. The position shown in the LPS tab are in the log variables "stateEstimate.x", "stateEstimate.y" and "stateEstimate.z".

song
Beginner
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:24 am

Re: Use PC Client for 10 Crazyflies

Post by song » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:50 am

As always, Thank you for your reply! :lol:

I decide not to use PC client(through making my own Python script). I just add source codes in Crazyflie-firmware so Crazyflie sends their position value to another PC program. So I wanna know is how to recognize Crazyflie state whether it's connected with Loco positioning nodes.
I'm going to use 6 nodes, 10 Crazyflie, and radio dongle!
And could you let me know a sort of steps(process i mean) to set-up my radio dongle, Crazyflie etc.?

Thank you!

kristoffer
Bitcraze
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Use PC Client for 10 Crazyflies

Post by kristoffer » Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:18 pm

There is unfortunately no simple way to detect if the Crazyflie has found its position or not. There is a "hack" that we often use though (not fool proof) that might be interesting. You will find a python implementation in https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-l ... py#L59-L97 and one in C in https://github.com/bitcraze/crazyflie-f ... #L237-L279

The best way to get started with the Crazyflie and Crazyradio is to check out our tutorials on https://www.bitcraze.io/

In general, use one frequency (channel) per Crazyradio and different addresses for each Crazyflie. In your case if you have one Crazyradio you could for instance configure the Crazyflies to use
radio://0/70/2M/E7E7E7E701
radio://0/70/2M/E7E7E7E702
radio://0/70/2M/E7E7E7E703
...

Post Reply