Autonomous flight - receiving command from pc on each specific time

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
karusan
Beginner

Autonomous flight - receiving command from pc on each specific time

Post by karusan »

Hi,

I'm still new to crazyflie and have a very limited knowledge but I am very eager and interested to learn the autonomous flight. I am planning to use the vicon motion capture system to check the position of the quadrotor and then create a trajectory for it to follow and hold its position. I want to process the data in matlab or any other platform (any suggestion?) and then send the parameters such as Vx, Vy and Yaw and thrust. I have tried the autonomous flight using python of a pre-defined path trajectory (ex. flowSequenceSync.py etc.) with flow deck but I think it is more on running the file and then wait for the result. I want to keep on tracking the position and update the command. Is it possible to send the data one at a time and then update the new command (on pc) based on actual position to the target position at specific time?

PS. I really have a very limited knowledge so I would appreciate if you can give a more detailed advice and suggestions.

Thank you in advance for the help.
arnaud
Bitcraze

Re: Autonomous flight - receiving command from pc on each specific time

Post by arnaud »

What you are describing is possible but what you should do depends greatly of what you are trying to achieve.

when using a motion capture system, you normally send the motion capture pose estimate to the Crazyflie in real-time this way the Crazyflie can estimate its state (position/velocity/acceleration and attitude) by fusing the mocap estimate and the internal gyroscope and accelerometer using a Kalman filter.

Then it is possible to send velocity or position setpoints to the Crazyflie and the internal controller will work at following the setpoint.