How To Fly CF with Android & Macbook?

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
dwaddsy
Beginner

How To Fly CF with Android & Macbook?

Post by dwaddsy »

Hello,

I have an android cell and a macbook pro. Can anyone please help me as I have my CF ready to fly but no controller to do so. Just my android and macbook pro. Any link to a walk through on how to do so or advice? I am not a programmer just a guy with common sense, general hobby skills and good instruction following capabilities!
foosel
Expert

Re: How To Fly CF with Android & Macbook?

Post by foosel »

Given that droidmote doesn't seem to be available for Macs, you basically have threeoptions: Use the Bitcraze VM (in VirtualBox for OS X hosts) plus the Droidmote Server (for Linux) and try to get it to work this way, or (probably the faster way) get yourself a (cheap) Mac-compatible gamepad with dual analog sticks, or use the Android client plus an USB OTG cable to fly your CF from your Android device (which I already described here).
Also: AR.Drone 2.0 (RC-enabled thanks to self-soldered MiruMod) and Hubsan X4 H107
dwaddsy
Beginner

Post by dwaddsy »

foosel wrote:Given that droidmote doesn't seem to be available for Macs, you basically have threeoptions: Use the Bitcraze VM (in VirtualBox for OS X hosts) plus the Droidmote Server (for Linux) and try to get it to work this way, or (probably the faster way) get yourself a (cheap) Mac-compatible gamepad with dual analog sticks, or use the Android client plus an USB OTG cable to fly your CF from your Android device (which I already described here).
Hi Foosel,

Thank you for your response. I feel as though I am in over my head with the programs and coding. Is there anyway you would be able to direct me to somewhere or someway so a laymen such as myself would be able to successfully set up the system with my macbook and android to fly my CF. Poor little thing is just sitting on my desk begging to be flown =(.

Thank you for your patience!