Loco Positioning system power consumption ? [solved]

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
jeremix
Beginner
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:32 pm

Loco Positioning system power consumption ? [solved]

Postby jeremix » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:13 am

Hi Bitcraze team !

Everything is in the title.

I may have missed something but I can't find any information about this.
Last edited by jeremix on Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.



arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Loco Positioning system power consumption ?

Postby arnaud » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:20 am

Hi Jeremix,

The radio module we use for loco positioning, the dwm1000, is consuming about 200mA on 3.3v when in transmit or receive mode. So this is the high estimate of the power consumption. The reason why it is not specified yet is that the actual power consumption will depend a lot of the use case. For example with the new TDMA code the Crazyflie does not use that much anymore since it does not communicate all the time.

/Arnaud

jeremix
Beginner
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:32 pm

Re: Loco Positioning system power consumption ?

Postby jeremix » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:18 pm

Thank you Arnaud.
I was wondering about the battery solution for powering the anchors.
Mine are 6000mAh. So it's about 30 hours of power...
It should be ok !

arnaud
Bitcraze
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Loco Positioning system power consumption ? [solved]

Postby arnaud » Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:01 am

I have been testing that I can run with a 2200mAh for about 6h without problems, after that it is still working but the anchor resets every now and then (witch gives some very interesting fly-away and come back flight pattern ;-)). So more realistically you should get at least 16h (could be more, depending on how accurate your USB battery capacity is specified).


Return to “General discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest