Flying crazyflie with a HoloLens

Discussions and questions about the Crazyflie Nano Quadcopter
theseankelly
Expert

Flying crazyflie with a HoloLens

Post by theseankelly » Mon May 16, 2016 1:54 am

Hey Community

My day job is as a software/firmware engineer for Microsoft HoloLens, so naturally I had to put together a HoloLens proof of concept! It's a really simple port of the UWP app I wrote (on the bitcraze GitHub now) for windows 10 and windows phone 10 that hooks in hand gestures as the input.

Demo video here:
https://1drv.ms/v/s!AiLl1yrI9l9HtZ4jx5qxpb10wV698A

It's pretty crude and difficult to fly. I'm doing the hand gestures at a high layer by handling the "navigation gesture" which presents a value from -1 to 1 on each axis relative to where the tap gesture occurred. Ideally I'd hook in one layer lower and process the raw hand input and do smoothing there - would have more control over the physical range, etc. That layer also supports multi-hand tracking so I could get yaw control also.

It'd also be fun to do tracking -- the HoloLens can self localize, and if I can localize the crazyflie with the hololens' sensors, then that'd make for a pretty sweet indoor positioning system.

Sean
http://www.thejumperwire.com
Tips, tutorials, and science about DIY electronics, drones, and embedded software.

tobias
Bitcraze

Re: Flying crazyflie with a HoloLens

Post by tobias » Mon May 16, 2016 11:26 am

This is so cool! Didn't know about the HoloLens before, and now I really want one!

Are you controlling the CF2 directly over bluetooth from the HoloLens?

theseankelly
Expert

Post by theseankelly » Mon May 16, 2016 2:51 pm

Yup, no external PC in this setup. Just HoloLens and the crazyfile. The video was recorded on the HoloLens too (it has a front facing video/photo camera).
Tips, tutorials, and science about DIY electronics, drones, and embedded software.

danielvf
Beginner

Post by danielvf » Mon May 16, 2016 3:10 pm